Looking to build my first rig

climblife

HI guys,

I'm pretty new to this whole forum thing but figured I would reach out for some advice.

I'm currently driving a modded focus ST and loving it... however, its the farthest thing from an adventure truck. I need something to get me into the desert rock climbing areas on weekends that I can still drive to work. My offload experience has been purely ridding along. the truck has to be interesting and unique... I'm not looking to drive something boring. Ive done all my own work on my focus but all of my tools are at my parents house in Indiana, so I'll be paying to have work done. I have a real hard on for the FJ 60 but i think that would be too big of a financial commitment. I have around 20k to spend cash on the truck and I can add the lift and tires later if needed. I'm also planning on a roof top tent and other upgrades to make my truck bomb proof. I want to put in the time and money on the front end so that I can just beat it up and not have to worry about reliability.

thanks for the input,

Collin

ttfjc

weekend wheeler
If you got the cash, get on mud forum and buy an 80 series thats built. 15k will get you a go anywhere rig. Dont be afraid of 175k+ mileage and 20 year old vehicles. Mud members will often times sell rigs that are well documented with a ton of money dumped into them, and you can save by letting them go out and put the first scratches on it, if your ok with that. You could go the same route with a 60 but might be less to choose from, more money involved, and lets face it. The most bang for your buck will be an 80. There pretty much the single greatest vehicle ever made.

Save the rest for pm and gas.

If you wanna go unique and have the abilities..there are 80 series and 70 series 5 speed diesel imports all over for around 12-18k (your mileage may vary, and i hope LHD is ok) but parts can be tricky and paying someone else to fix is expensive.