Keep and repair or Replace?

07Chevy

Longtime Stalker first time poster. Born, raised and still live in Mississippi so Overlanding isn’t really the norm. A friend and I have decided to try to make a trip or two per year to the Ozarks or Appalachians for some camping and hiking. So we are in the infancy stage of planning, but Number 1 on the list is naturally a vehicle. I have a 07 Chevy Silverado CC Classic with the 4.8. It has 297,000 miles. I bought new in 06. In 2015 the motor developed what 2 different mechanic shops have said is lifter tap. It’s extremely loud and only goes away if you lightly accelerate and keep the RPMs above 1500 and below 2000. Warm or cold doesn’t matter. If you accelerate hard it stays ticking. I’m not 100% sure it’s the lifters, but I’ve been driving it 20-40 miles per week for over 2 years like that (Accord is my DD). Besides that the only mechanical issues it currently has is that the front suspension needs some work.
So I need some help in what to do from the experts. These trips will be between 5 and 10 hours one way. Should I sink some money into my Chevy or look at getting something with lower miles?
I’ve looked at SUVs (4Runner and LC) but I really really like haveing a bed to throw things in. I looked at Tacoma’s (had a 87 Toyota Truck in High School), but I’ve gotten bigger and they seem a little small for a 10 hour trip.
Kind of liking the First Gen Tundras right now.
Thoughts? I’ve still got some ideas, but wanted to get a little feedback.
Thanks everyone.

Last edited:

twodollars

Google 4.8 long block, there's a wide range of options. If your mechanically inclined and have a decent set of hand tools it's not too bad of a job. Of course the rest of the truck also has that many miles, so if your not into regular repairs, maybe something newer makes more sense. Personally I really like not making vehicle payments, so my burb is 25 years old, over 325k on it, and always needs something.

Halligan

Adventurer