First gen for panamerican journey?

txmxer

Hello everyone, Im in the early, early, early stages of planning and slowly building a vehicle for my dream journey. Not new to building trucks, but I am new to building one for these purposes.

I went from wanting to do this trip on a motorcycle, to possibly a westfalia (knowing all the repairs and breakdowns I would have along the way lol), but right now I have a first gen access cab tacoma.

Im wondering if any of you have done the same journey with the same vehicle and any tips?

I think my current tacoma has plenty of pros as far as blending in, reliability, etc.

But the con, im 2wd with an e locker which makes me apprehensive to build this vehicle, but the plus would be that I can drive it for a while and know it's quirks and know it inside and out. So lets stick with this truck for now.
Mods so far are: aftermarket ucas/coilovers getting installed soon, shell, all terrains, winch, and arb bump

Did you guys find that a regular shell with a sleeping platform got the job done? Or better off getting a very small camper for the bed of the truck?
I know the truck is capable so I guess I'm asking, what were the pros and cons of using this specific platform or similar in your opinion for international overlanding

JaredNorthway

For the specific platform (2WD First gen) the only pro over a 4WD vehicle in my opinion is less complexity which means less to go wrong in a mechanical failure. With that being said If you are going to be attempting any trail driving or adverse conditions its better to be able to stick it in 4WD as opposed to struggle with 2WD.