Advice on my house battery setup?

jyeager

I would like to have some knowledgeable people review and comment about my battery idea, since I'm brand new to this.

I have 2 batches of these coming: https://www.ebay.com/itm/100-LITHIU...d=272606783733&_trksid=p2060778.c100290.m3507

They are Lithium-Ion (LI-CO) each of them is protected (onboard bms).
(reiterate, I have 200 of the cells coming)

I plan to combine them in to a 4S50p configuration and use them as a house battery in my vehicle.

I would like to have them charged via alternator and solar.

I will get an appropriate solar charge controller, so my concerns come mainly with the alternator option. It would be nice to just be able to use a simple VSR to join the house battery and starting battery when the vehicle is running. The VSR would be dumb and only join then when voltage is over 13v but would then stay connected for potentially very long periods of time pushing alternator voltage.
I can check, but I assume my alternator output will usually be below 14v.

What I have googled says that the nominal voltage should be 3.6v x 4 = 14.4v as I'm planning to go (4s).
And the max charging voltage should be 4.2v x 4 = 16.8 which my alternator would never exceed. But even if it did for a short period of time, wouldn't the batteries be safe due to their included protection (onboard BMS)?

And the batteries would be fine with alternator supplied voltage of <14v for indefinite periods of time, right?

I know the alternator would probably never fully charge the battery since that would take 14.4v at a minimum (theoretically), but the solar system can finish the charge if I am not happy with a less than complete charge.

What do I not understand fully or correctly that will cause this not to be a good idea?

Thanks.

Joe917

Explorer
16.8 volts is your charging voltage, your alternator will not come close. Your best bet is a battery to battery charger with a Lithium ion program.