RAM Rebel vs Stock 1500 or Other Vehicle?

Exeter

Greetings!

I am brand new to over-landing and excited to get started in the next six months. I currently have a 2015 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 2WD. I hit some dirt farm/county roads I found from some submitted trails on Gaia GPS around my current location and quickly found I struggled and almost got stuck with a 2WD vehicle in the smallest amounts of mud from the recent rains in central Texas on the farm roads. I just don't think 2WD is the right long term investment to modify and throw money into. With that said, my wife and I are looking to get much more involved in this and have our sights set on many areas over the next few years. She is likely to get a used 4Runner in 2019 when she goes from lease to purchase. And that brings me to my vehicle choices.