LR4 transfer case

mlambert12

Hi all,

Current RRS owner, love the vehicle but the lack of manual ability to lock tcase is frustrating, I am looking to build a mild offload rig and have set eyes on the LR4. My question is,

Is their any way to lock the transfer case in an LR4? Or do you have to rely on the computer to decide? I have found several situations where having the t-case locked ahead of time has been useful. If you have one with a rear lock, can you lock that manually too or?

If not I plan on just digging up a lowish miles D2 and going from there.

Thanks guys,
Mike

Last edited:

Cobra_R

Adventurer
I don't believe any of the LR3, LR4, RR, or RRS T-cases or rear diffs can be locked manually; it's all computer controlled.

rcharrette

Adventurer
I just moved over from an LR3 (non-HD package) to an LR4 with the HD package. I'm still learning my way around it but can confirm for sure it is computer controlled.

Ray_G

Explorer
Chiming in with a tangent but since we seem to get a fair amount of new to the brand or new to the RRS/3/4 platform owners here it is worth noting that a big part of shifting to that platform is noting how different the wheeling style is-i.e. what you are alluding to about turning the dial to the appropriate picture, pressing the gas and then basically steering the sorcery that takes place from the computers compared to those of us that 'grew up' wheeling things where you can shift the CDL into low/locked, and potentially engage R or F air locker, while also controlling the throttle application.

It is just a very different wheeling experience, in my opinion, and takes a lot of getting used to-I think for many of us it isn't exactly comfortable either.
r-
Ray

NASDIESEL