I'm a newbie to 12V power systems - Can you look and critique my plan?

makemuchoftime

Hello,

I am working on a build out of my Chevy Avalanche (full build thread here) and I am putting in a power panel mounted on the inside bed of the truck. The panel will include various power output sockets, a fuse box, solar charger, and an inverter will be connected as well. The goal is to be able to make the panel easily removable so I can keep it protected when I'm using my truck to haul stuff and also, so I can take it out and plug into a home built battery box and small solar home system.

I've done quite a lot of reading and researching and am at the point now where I'd like some feedback from those who have some experience and knowledge.
  • Is 1/0 wire with 160A fuse good enough for the inverter wiring?
  • If I throw the circuit breaker, and plug in another AGM battery into the Anderson connectors on the 30A fuse, will that power the system off that battery or is that too much for 10 AWG wire and a 30A fuse?
  • Do you see any other red flags or issues? I will be sleeping back here with the family so I want to be completely conservative where safety is concerned.

I've already wired in the aux battery.
AvyPower2ndBatt.JPG

I plan on running 1/0 wire under the vehicle and back up into the back of the panel inside 1/2" flexible non metallic conduit. There are a few things not on the diagram, like a cooling fan as the inverter will be in an enclosed space, a remote switch for the inverter, and a separate power switch for the USB and round 12v sockets.
AvyPowerPanel.JPG

Thanks for your help.
- Maker

makemuchoftime