Educate me on Roof Racks for RTT

Black Dynamite

I am not purchasing a RTT in the near future but would like to get one down the road. What should I be looking for in a roof rack? I have an LR4 2012. I would like to use the rack for general load carrying on different adventures but also use it for a RTT on others. Am I limited to a flat style with no side bars? I am new to this so just trying to get info before I purchase the wrong thing. Is there a rack and or RTT that can suit a 5 person family? or will a few of us be on top and others inside?

Vic

JimmyHall

To support a roof top tent on the Land Rover Discovery, you'll need a strong rack system that attaches to the rain gutters.

Rhino-Rack offers the best solution for this application. A three bar roof rack is recommended for hard shell type tent . This Rhino-Rack roof rack connects to the vehicle's rain gutters for the strongest support. I think this may be valid for you as you are looking for roof racks for RTT. There you can look for different roof fitters.

Ray_G

Explorer
Stu has already pointed out that the 3 & 4's doing have rain gutters so that style of rack is N/A.

You are likely stuck with flat sides (or a rack with a flat portion designed for a RTT, which are out there for the platform).

I'd suggest diving through the depths of the inter web a bit and looking at the various iterations of this truck with RTT's on it to get a sense of what rack suits your needs best for a variety of reasons....

Meaning you can get it done with a Front Runner 3/4 rack and a standard (ARB) canvas RTT for sure...there are derivations of this for various racks (Baja and the like).

If you decide you want hard shell you can still pull that off with a flat rack, or even a prospeed (which is flat, but follows the truck's lines).