7.3L engine life?

Village Idiot
As some of you know, I have a 99 Ford E-350 7.3L with 355k on it right now.

I'm working on a UJOR 4WD kit right now, but worried that after I spend all the money on 4WD (which I'm doing no matter what), that my engine with poop the bed.

Maybe this winter I will pull the engine and refresh it. But was wondering how many miles can I expect before I start having lower engine problems?

Or when is it a good sign to rebuild? What can I do in the mean time? Like maybe injectors, HPOP?

I would love to upgrade the cam, injectors, and turbo at some point for more power.

Any advice would help. Thanks.

MattF350

Observer
I will disclaimer that Im not a mechanic, I barely know where the engine is.
However, if stories are true, Ive seen the 7.3s easily double your numbers, as Bbasso has shown. I think key is maintaining it, just like anything else you want to last as long as possible. If I were to get an older diesel, itd be the 7.3 no doubt.

Village Idiot
Good news to hear. I REALLY take care of this thing. Always doing extra maintenance, etc.. It's going to get a Racor fuel filter system soon too.

Thanks fellas.

gmtech

Observer
watch some diesel tech Ron videos on youtube. and powerstroke help videos. two channels ive been watching. very informative on common problems and lack of maintenance uses .

hogasm

Observer
Just returned from Daytona pulling 2 bikes with 610,000 on 97 E350
Would take her to Nova Scotia tomorrow......well in July!!!!!

DWitcher

Your really at the mercy of the previous owner(s) as to how they maintained the engine. Best this you can do is keep up on the maintenance and hope for the best. I recently bought a '96 with 303k miles and didn't think twice about mileage. It is what it is. Cheers.

Petrolburner

Explorer