Land Rover Owner Seeking Help with a Montero Purchase

m3 bavaria

Adventurer
So, as the owner of two LR's, I've grown a bit tired of spending a small fortune each month with my mechanic.

I've decided that the Montero looks like an excellent choice. I'm looking at the latest body style.

Is there anything in particular that I need to look out for, or hard to come by options on particular model years?

Thanks in advance.

datrupr

Expedition Leader
I am a novice to the Montero's, and I know someone will come in here and correct any mis-information I may give you, and I apologize in advance if I do mis-inform you. I have and '01 XLS with the "XLS Preferred Equipment Package". That means that I have the 4-speed auto (Limiteds get a 5-speed), 4.9:1 gears (Limiteds get 4.3:1) and with the preferred package you get the way cool HUGE sunroof and best of all, a limited slip in the rear diff. At some point, I think '03, the XLS started to get the 5-speed and the 4.3 gears. I would look for the 4.9 gears. That is just me. And, something to look out for, at around 80K the tensioner pulley will go out on you. It is an expensive pulley, but it only takes a few minutes to change it yourself. Other than that, so far no problems with mine. Good luck, and I love my 3rd Gen Montero.

tdesanto

Expedition Leader
Regarding the differential gearing:

The 4.9s were only available in the XLS, because it had the 4-speed in the '01 and '02 year models. The gear ratios on the 4-speed were different than those found on the 5-speed. So, it was essentially a wash between that combination on the 5-speed transmission and the 4.3:1 diff gears.

So, it's not as simple as to say, "get the 4.9 gears." I don't think there is an advantage with the 4.9 gears if you only have the 4-speed automatic.

If you want to keep the stock tires (31"), then it won't matter; you'll have plenty of power regardless of which model you get.