Cheap $$ bike capable of cross country expeditioning?

cstamm81

Adventurer
First off, I'm a total newb when it comes to bikes, so please forgive my stupidity! I was crusing the local CL and ran across a mid 70's Yamaha Enduro 2500CC for under a grand. This got my gears turning as I have always wanted to do long distance solo motorcycle trips. By long distance I mean across US, Canada, and Mexico type trips. So, is there such a thing as a cheap (under 2 grand) bike capable of handling such a trip and being somewhat comfortable in the process? I wouldn't need much cargo carrying capacity, I can travel very, very light. Thanks in advance!

Hltoppr

El Gringo Spectacular!
Some of the 70s enduros are 2 stroke...so just do some research. Any bike will do the trip. Just look at Lois Pryce's trips from Alaska to Ushuaia and London to Cape town on her Yamaha 225/250s.

I'd look for a more modern dual sport, such as an NX250 or NX650 Honda, which can be found quite frequently for around $1500.

Budget an additional $500 to $1000 for good quality motorcycle gear. Helmet, Jacket, Pants, Gloves and real moto boots.

Doesn't matter what you're on, a moped or a BMW GS Adventure....the pavement will tear skin and bone just the same.

You can also check out the for sale section of www.advrider.com for used bikes and gear.

HTH

-H-

efuentes

Explorer
I'd look for a more modern dual sport, such as an NX250 or NX650 Honda, which can be found quite frequently for around $1500.

Thats the route I took, could not be happier :sombrero:

1K worth of goodness !!!

IMG_0223.jpg

cstamm81

Adventurer
That Honda looks like the ticket! What model is it, an NX250? Thanks for the advice Hltoppr, and the heads up on the Enduros. I'll keep my eyes open on that site and on craigslist.

grahamfitter

Expedition Leader
I was a total bike noob just over a year ago. These are the words of wisdom I received here when I asked and I'd like to pass them on:

1. Take the MSF class.