Has anyone else considered this?

shreadhead

For a long time I've been thinking that it would be alot easier to get a work back like plummers & electricians use and modifying it to fit my needs. A full bed replacement shell made out of aluminum fully spray lined w/some basic options. There's some pretty cool designs, but none with pop-ups. When I get more serious about this I'll ask if any of the builders would do such a modification.
Brent

shreadhead

I forgot to add that this would be on the back of a 99' Tacoma X-cab 2.7 with 4:1 gearing. I've been using a Snug Top for many years & it gets a little cramped on week long trips.

ntsqd

Heretic Car Camper
Friend of mine did that many years ago. Kept one side loaded with the camping gear, and the other got loaded with tools etc just before a trip.

shreadhead

I've looked at many camper configurations and they all seem overkill for my purposes. It would be easy to get some basic power options added. There are already pre-made water tanks. A sleeping platform about a foot above the wheel wells and lots of well balanced storage underneath. I could actually go on and on, but I won't leave out the awning & jerry cans just so I can complete the picture.
Brent

Bogo

Adventurer
You likely can get the modification you want, but expect to pay dearly for the back. I would not be surprised if it runs you $4000 plus.