Ex Mining Truck Purchase

Witchdoctor Oz

Adventurer
Hi Team,
Looking at purchasing a 4x4 truck & found a few ex mining trucks for reasonable money, to me.
Is ex mining or tour a bad track to go down or is it better to spend more money & buy new.
Coming from a 4x4 Ute back ground I am very apprehensive when buying an older used 4x4.
I have no experience with truck so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
David

whatcharterboat

Supporting Sponsor, Overland Certified OC0018
Coming from a 4x4 Ute back ground I am very apprehensive when buying an older used 4x4.
I have no experience with truck so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi David. Mate, if we keep getting new Aussies to the forum at this rate, maybe we should start our own. (Anyone think of a name? Seriously, PM me) Anyway, IMO it really depends on the operation the used trucks come from. Just because they are from a commercial background isn't always a bad thing. Then again, I heard about some really low kay mine trucks this week for around $6k each. I first thought "wow, I'll take 2 !!" , then after asking a few questions, they needed new cabs and chassis and for some lame reason the comp plates were missing. All I would have been buying was the running gear. You see , they'd come from a really corrosive mine site up in the Bowen Basin. Probably worse than the beach.