"Best" 4x4 conversion for a new E-350 passenger van

OffaRex

Observer
We recently completed a 2 week, 5000+ mile trip with six of us in a Dakota. Not surprisingly, we decided that a full size van is in our near-term future.

The plan is to buy a new RB E-350 V10 passenger van and have it converted to 4wd. It will be a daily driver but will also be used for driving on the beach and for overland trips.

The question is what are the strengths and weaknesses of the various conversions? Is there a "best" option?

- Sportsmobile (Will they do stand alone 4wd conversions?)
- Quigley
- Advanced 4x4
- UJoint
- QuadVan
- Boulder Offroad

Any others I am missing?

I am a competent shade tree mechanic, but I don't think even my sainted wife has the patience to wait until I got around to finishing the job. So, if I went with UJoint's kit, I would probably have someone install it for me.

I also like the 46 gal. fuel tank that Sportsmobile seems to offer. Is that something that could be added to the other options, say from Transfer Flow, or is it a Sportsmobile exclusive.

I've been digging around on the forum for a while and appreciate the great information that is available. But I would be grateful for anyone's specific thoughts about the differences/advantages/disadvantages of the various systems.

Thanks in advance.

dsw4x4

Adventurer
If you can search around and test drive every van you can before making a decision. First is to decide if you want coils or leafs both have their advantages and disadvantages. Every sales man will tell you theirs rocks and the others suck. If you can test drive and see what you like that will help you to make an informed decision.
A couple of things to keep in mind