Page 1 of 95 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Building your own canopy/camper.

Default Building your own canopy/camper.

Building your own canopy/camper is easier than you think. You just have to have some time,basic hand tools and skills, and some money. I looked at used campers for my truck and they were $3000 plus, and then i would have to modify them to suit my needs. I came to the conclusion that it was easier and better to build my own.
    First you have to find out what you need. I am a carpenter that usually works alone, so I needed something that would be easy to load heavy tools and lumber. I also needed a sleeper so that I had a fast place to catch a nap after work. Thus i decided a full standing height inside with an area for a bed over the cab of the truck would be perfect.

Here you can see the box I made of 3/4pressure treated plywood with 45degree gussets screwed and glued into the bottom of the box and under the side of the shelf that goes over the pickup bed. There is a hole cut out to access the cab through the rear slider window. I assembled the box on top of the pick-up bed so that I had easy access to glue and screw all joints together. After it was easy to drop the box into the bed with 2 men. Yes, pressure treated is real HEAVY!

Here you can see the basic set up. Pressure treated 3/4 ply up to cab height. The steel studs and the 2/4 studs are flush with the edge of the plywood so you can add a covering later. Steel studs that are double up inside each other horizontally on the top

This shows the view from the back. The big opening is for a ramp that is hinged on the bottom and folds down much like the drawbridge of an old castle. Inside you can see how i just built a wall on top of were the 3/4 treated plywood stops, that is flush with the outside edge of the ply. The cross members supporting the horizontal steel studs are a 4 pack of 2by4s.

This gives you an idea of the vertical and horizontal steels studs and 2by4s.