Hanging spare wheel on rear door

Anton2k3

Adventurer
Hey guys,

Just coming towards the end of my camper conversion on a mercedes vario 814d. I have been musing over various alternatives for the spare, and have just seen what earthroamer do with theirs and the lift to get it down, i think its brilliant. So, do you think a rear door/hinges would be man enough (with appropriate frame and strengthening on the inside) to handle it? I guess the real question is the hinges, they are pretty chunky, and think they would probably be fine, but does anyone else have any experience of this?

Thanks in advance,

Anthony

Iain_U1250

Explorer
I've got no experience with 814D's however I would doubt that the hinges would be designed for the extra load of a spare wheel, especially something so heavy you need a lift for it. On my Land Rover I got a spare wheel carrier independent from the door, as I don't want to stress the hinges with the cyclic loading from corrugated roads. Nothing worse than having the rear door fall off in the middle of nowhere.

docka

Adventurer
Hey guys,

Just coming towards the end of my camper conversion on a mercedes vario 814d. I have been musing over various alternatives for the spare, and have just seen what earthroamer do with theirs and the lift to get it down, i think its brilliant. So, do you think a rear door/hinges would be man enough (with appropriate frame and strengthening on the inside) to handle it? I guess the real question is the hinges, they are pretty chunky, and think they would probably be fine, but does anyone else have any experience of this?

Thanks in advance,

Anthony

Anthony, how did you resolve this in the end?