Best boots for BMW GS1200

taco007

Observer
Hi Guys: I'm new to offroad, expedition travel on two wheels. Can any of you recommend boots for offroad expedition travel on a motorcycle? I have used the heavy duty MX boots on my KTM for track use but feel they are too heavy for the BMW on street/dirt. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian

sandalscout

Adventurer
I am not a huge fan of MX boots due to the fact that they don't flex very well. The protection offered is nice, but I never could get used to them.

That said, I ended up with a set of Gaerne G-Adventure boots. They do not have the hard plastic side plates that MX boots do, but they do have a plastic shin plate. They seem fairly stiff, have three cam buckles, and waterproof liner (that gets good reviews). I have only had them for a few days and only ridden them about 30 miles so far, but they are comfortable so far. Tomorrow will be a bigger test.

Boots are so subjective. Many of the guys I ride with ride more hardcore than I do and probably would want a stiff boot, but I finally found a boot that I like, offers decent protection and is affordable. Sizing is good also, I usually wear an 11.5-12 shoe, and the size 12 boots are great.

trailsurfer

Explorer
My favorite by far after buying 3 different pairs of boots the last 4 years is the Sidi Adventure Goretex. Great in all temps, 110 to 20 degrees, and completely waterproof. Very comfortable on the road, and great off road. I think the boots saved me from a serious ankle injury riding in the Utah desert this fall.

wesel123

Explorer
My favorite by far after buying 3 different pairs of boots the last 4 years is the Sidi Adventure Goretex. Great in all temps, 110 to 20 degrees, and completely waterproof. Very comfortable on the road, and great off road. I think the boots saved me from a serious ankle injury riding in the Utah desert this fall.