Rebuilding Plastic RV Hatch

bajajoaquin

Adventurer
My Callen shell has a big (25" square) plastic vent/hatch on the roof above the cabover section. It sounds great: lots of ventilation, and an escape route if it's needed. But, in practice, it's been a problem. Sitting at the front of the camper, it's in a low-pressure zone, and keeps getting sucked open. I've replaced it twice, and f----d with it countless times. It finally blew off again in the last set of storms to come through here. And then it rained.

So, I need to fix it, and I'm tired of fixing it over and over again. My solution, confirmed by another post I saw here, was to fab a new hatch out of steel, so I never have to deal with it again. I have a bunch of the equipment, some random steel lying around, and a local steel supplier for the other stuff I need. The only problem is that my sheet metal brake only works up to 24" and, well, I'm not very good at metal fab!

But why let that stop me?

My original plan was to mimic the original shape, kind of a really flattened diamond. I'd put a crease in each triangle, and then spot weld them together, sealing the seam with some sort of silicon goo. But I had to stop that plan when I realized my brake was an inch and a half too small.

hatch1-sm.jpghatch2-sm.jpg

So my plan became to make some ribs with a nice curve in them, lay the sheet metal on top, and spot weld them in place.

My materials consist of some 10-ga sheet metal I picked up as scrap years ago, that was in 7"X8' strips, some 1/4" X 1" strap, and a sheet of 20-ga cold roll that I picked up.

First step: make the template for the ribs. In order to do this, I grabbed a thin sheet of arauco I had lying around, and used it as a bender board to draw out my curve.
making_template-sm.jpg

After cutting, that gives me my rib template:
template-sm.jpg

bajajoaquin

Adventurer