Army HMMV 788 Shelter Truck AND trailer camper

jronwood

Adventurer
Well, I hope this is were this thread belongs, I have been mulling over various camper and trailer conversion for, well,.... a few years. I have a pretty extensive backround in Outdoor Ed, worked for 4 years with an Outward Bound style Experiential Ed. program. We travelled all across the US, Canada, and to Mexico (to climb the volcanoes outside Mexico City, 5 times). I LOVE road trips, outdoor avdenture, even extreme winter camping (slept in my Subaru one time while ice climbiing in the Adirondacks at -28 degrees AIR TEMP). I have been to Peru, Vietnam (to adopt) and have a HUGE "bucket list". I am a furniture designer, sawyer, welder, fabricater, blacksmith, and generally out of the box thinker (there is actually not even a box in my world). I really dislike the pop ups with the fabric, and any cheezy "normal" style campers. No offense meant, just not for me. Army vet, so I know how well stuff is built.

So, fast forward to today, three kids 4-5-9, adventurous wife (biking,rafting, mountaineering, ice/rock climbing, etc..) I want to do some road trips with the familia, possible AlCan in a few years when the youngest is old enough to remember. We all love hiking, we had our youngest ones hiking every summer for the last few, things like Sencea Rocks overlook, 1 1/2 mile 1000' elevation gain, and last summer Pine Creek Gorge, 1 1/4 mile 1000' elevation.