New to me TACO

Joker

Adventurer
Well I have been contemplating for a few months about what to do with my aging Durango as there are really no aftermarket parts for overlanding and I needed to spend a couple grand just to keep it street worthy. So I was surfing the net when I came across this 2007 Taco with 34k miles and I couldn’t pass it up; this thing must have never seen dirt, been garage kept and only used to get groceries as it is absolutely spotless inside and out. The only think wrong with it is it needs new tires so I will probably get those soon, something in the 31x10.5 range; any suggestions on a small 2” budget boost?

P4080013.jpg

Owyhee H

Adventurer
For tires your stock tires are just about 31" equivalent. The 245/75R16 is about 9.5" wide while the 265/70R16 is a little over 10.5. You can easily bump it up to 265/75R16 with no lift and they are about an inch taller.

For budget boost you can either go with a OME front setup with the 884's to get about 2" or Bilsteins with the adjustable ride height to keep the soft stock springs. In the rear OME or Bilstein shocks and an add a leaf is easy and inexpensive. There are better rear spring packs out there but they cost a lot and can provide more lift than you are looking for.

Be warned you can get a front end growl with even a small lift but an aftermarket bushing has been made to hopefully solve the problem for good, but it is very new.

Congrats on the new ride.

Owyhee H

Adventurer
Im not knocking the Bilsteins but having a set of struts tuned to the spring is really nice. If you are not going to go with ICON's or somthing similar later just cry once and try this:

http://www.toyteclifts.com/index.ph...tegory_id=113&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=72

You can do sping packs later if needed but the AAL will get you through. Dont do the diff drop, it arguably does nothing on a 2nd gen taco. Definetly do the trimpacker, the taco lean is still present on mine with only one trimpacker.

Owyhee H