Project FJ: Building the Ultimate Off-Road Vehicle for Outdoor Photographers

BretEdge

Adventurer
I'm a professional landscape and adventure photographer in Moab, Utah. I'm also the proud owner of a 2007 FJ Cruiser. Living where I do and doing what I do, it goes without saying that I spend a fair amount of time exploring well away from paved roads. I'm not one to drive a trail just for the sake of driving a trail, though. When I go out I'm on the hunt, looking for landscapes that inspire me to dig out my camera and tripod.

I placed the order for my FJC in January, 2007 and took delivery of a shiny silver FJC with every option other than a subwoofer and side airbags in March, 2007. I'm incapable of letting any vehicle I own remain in stock form for longer than a few weeks. In April, 2007 I installed an Old Man Emu lift and 285/70/17 Good Year Wrangler MT/R's that have since been replaced with BFG KM2's. In 2011 we bought a Maggiolina roof top tent for a trip along the Oregon Coast in my wife's 4Runner. As soon as we got home we swapped the tent over to my FJC for another trip into Colorado's San Juan Mountains. Until recently, these had been the only modifications to the FJ.

And then, a few months ago, I concocted a plan to build my FJC into the Ultimate Off-Road Vehicle for Outdoor Photographers. My lovely wife was thrilled. Just thrilled. Luckily, we cut a deal. I could mod out the FJ but every time I added something new, she got to spend some quality time shopping on the internet. I may not be a smart man but after thinking long and hard (about .5 seconds) we shook hands and the deal was sealed. Actually I don't think we shook hands for I was too caught up in the moment, squealing like a little girl who just won a beauty pageant.

At any rate, I sat down and came up with some criteria for the build. I knew my goal was to build the FJ into a capable overlanding rig with a focus on the specific needs of an outdoor photographer in mind.