Questions about ambulance box modifications...

Acheateaux

Adventurer
Looooooonnnnnngggggg time lurker, first time poster...

So I have a line on a low mileage 96' Chevy 3500 4x4 diesel ambulance. I'm a firefighter, know my way around a box or 2, but have some idea's I was wondering if someone had any experience with...

1. How hard would it be to pop the existing top, as in cut the top off, fabricate in the hardware and get a custom skirt sewn up? Wedge style? Straight up?
2. In the completely bat$hit idea department, what about robbing some hardware off a popup trailer and making it with slide out beds up top, either over the cab, off the back (where you could hang a netting setup) or both.
3. Anyone have any experience widening out a walk through? Ideally the whole back of the cab would be exposed to the interior of the box.

Ideally this GnaRV would be for primarily bumping around Colorado on ski trips, flyfishing and paddling fun. Prob 2-3 runs to the coast for surf trips/year. It will have to be able to carry a kid or 2, so I would like a bed acros the back that converts to a dinette, but having the beds up top would real nice as well...

Am I totally off base here?

hdemetrious

Adventurer