Opinions on an expotrailer made from a utility bed?

mmtoy

Adventurer
I'm looking around at expedition-style trailer options...If I was solo, I'd just sleep on the ground and have a single cup for coffe, oatmeal, and chili, and a 1-burner stove...My DW, however, would very much like to have a real kitchen when we're out for more than a few days.

So, I'm looking at options. The Adventure Trailers, King Kampers, etc. look great, but they're way out of my price range.

So, I'm looking at converting a utility bed like this one, only done a bit better, with the option of adding a four wheel camper-style pop-up to the bed.

The bare beds go for anywhere from $100 to $1000, used.

I have very little experience building a highway-safe vehicle from scratch. I'm a good mechanic, am comfortable welding (certainly not an expert), doing some fabrication, etc., but I don't want to get into this project without some idea of the pitfalls I'll encounter. I've read others' threads, and need to do so again, but this post is to ask specifically about peoples' thoughts on this particular project...

So, why shouldn't I do this, or what should I watch out for? I'm most concerned about not having the thing disintegrate on the freeway (off-road would be bad too, but it probably wouldn't be fatal), but I also don't want to be pulling something the mass of a tank (max load is 6500 pounds, but I would like to keep it much less than that, of course).

Thoughts and desires
1) I would like trailer brakes; should I purchase a new axle, or can I find a reliable used one?
2) I would like to have '07 Tacoma-matching hubs so I can share wheels. Where in the world would I find that AND have trailer brakes on the axle?
3) How should I mount the bed to the frame? I've seen some people mount their trailer "box" directly to the frame, but I've also read that I should "spring mount" it. I'm not sure the frame will be flexing enough to require a separation between the bed and the frame.