Building a SBC...

kfgk14

Adventurer
So, I wasn't really sure where to post this, but I have a series of dilemmas...
I'm a highschool student, with a low budget from my parents and hopefully a job this summer to supplement that budget...
I have this dream in my head of a Chevy square body, single cab truck...1-ton running gear, small block engine, NV4500 transmission and an NP205 behind it, just a simple truck, minimal electronics, preferably carbureted for the sake of not screwing with wiring and the associated costs/time drain...
I'm willing to do any and all work I have the tools to do myself, but my parents really aren't the mechanic types so I have very limited tools. I can borrow a lot of other tools I'll need through the automotive tech program at school and other contacts I have, and I will buy what I have to when I can afford it (can actually write some amount of the expenses off as an educational expense on my folk's taxes and they'll pay for it in that case, don't ask...convoluted story with my school administration, short version I'm making this a project at school).
Let me give you, briefly, the objective of the build, and a rationale as to the above choices in terms of drivetrain:
The truck needs to be a utilitarian 4x4 I can take a long way from home, drive hard off-road in harsh environments, fix with hand tools in the middle of nowhere (though I'd prefer none of that-hence the 1-ton running gear) and also do tasks like tow a trailer, haul various and sundry heavy things my dad loves to drag home in borrowed trucks now, and look studly as **** for prom next spring (getting the ladies is, of course, key :cool:)