Dual Sport Fever.... need advice!

dsw4x4

Adventurer
Ujoint, Everybody has given you some great advice, I have been riding for about 30 years and today it seems there is no really bad bike every bike I swing a leg over I find something I like about it. My last few bikes always gravitate towards KTMs I really like them. I ride big bikes but I really really like the ktm 400 I have a friend that has one and man I think that is great bike. It still has plenty power but is light enough you can through it around and not to tall. I think it would be a very good starter bike. But really about any 400 size bike would be what I would recommend, anything smaller you will quickly out grow and anything bigger will wear you out wrestling with it if it does not scare the bajesus out of you first.
Derek

I ride a wr250r and really like it. I'm 5'-9" and the bike was a bit tall for me. I installed a Yamalink and lowered it by about 2" and that helped with the off-camber toe touchs. You'll notice that the fuel injection doesn't like to be lugged...high rpm is a must. And with the stock gearing, 85+ mph is easy with the 6-speed gearbox.:Wow1: I may swap out the rear spocket with a few extra teeth for less top end and a bit more bottom end pulling power with loaded panniers.

I've always ridden "Red" but am not disappointed with the blue machine. Good luck...:bike_rider:

Chris-

Your friend is right, you need a bigger bike than the WR250.

The thought of a 400+ four your first bike may sound a little intimidating, but I'm certain that this is where you'll want to be, and that anything smaller will leave you desiring more after your first couple of attempts at highway speeds and/or hills. You're a big guy, and I truly believe you'd be disappointed with a 250 after a few days/rides in a real-world setting.

I say forgo the WR250 and step up to a bike that fits your size.

-J

mcgovski

Adventurer
Chris