F450 chassis cab build -- composite box mounting

djm68

Observer
Hello,

I am just getting started on the research for building the camper box on a new-to-me 2020 F450 chassis cab. I will most likely go with a total composite box (or similar). As far as configuration is concerned, I might forgo the cab over and go for a simple 'box' style habitat. I've done a great deal of research, and I am rather confused about the requirements for mounting a composite box on a Ford chassis cab. I've read the chassis cabs flex more than pickups, and require a suspended subframe; other sources suggest the chassis cabs are actually quite stiff compared to Fuso's etc. and do not need sprung sub-frames. My F450 has a hard mounted flatbed (Martin aluminum drop side bed) which I suspect will not suffice for mounting a composite camper (I think).

Our use case is to travel the Pan-American, and to have the ability to reach remote locations, and not fear rough terrain damaging the box in the process.

To be clear, I am not building this camper myself -- I will be having this built -- but I do want to understand what is required to properly mount a box, and what to expect from a builder in this regard.

Thanks,
DJM

SootyCamper

While the f series frames are very robust, the risk of flex destroying your home on wheels is enough to invest in a subframe(spring mounted is the least complex). Checkout Globetrekkr, they have a very transparent price list so you can see what to expect. Overland adventure truck in Washington is a good resource aswell.

Also you stated you're going to have the habitat built for you, check out the Canadian builders, USD goes along way across the border.

Alloy