Hard sided adventure camper recommendations

SquatchGX

I am fairly new to the camper world, main experience is backpacking in the northern Rockies. Since I know have a family I am looking for a small hard sided camper. My wife's must have features are water heater, heater, onboard water, cassette toilet, stove, refrigerator, and some Windows. Other than galley and heater type no real electronics. I would say our budget can't go much higher than $30K with all options. For the off-road ability I am looking for roughly washboard rutted forest service roads (mainly boondocking type national forests etc). So far the best option I have found is the VMI Canyon. I am also looking at the cricket, though not sure about off road capability. Both offer standing room for me as I am 6'2". Farther down the list is something like the SoCal krawler or 5x10, but those are not ideal for our case. Any other recommendations? And since I am fairly new to this, any recommendations on virtually necessary upgrades for my intended purpose? Considering solar but would that be necessary for fridge and basic electrical draw?

jscusmcvet

Explorer
You might consider some of the toy haulars out there. They can be built more robust since they can carry weight. We looked at the Wolf Pup 17. With the ability to lower the rear door, screen in the back and leave it open like that you have a great open space. Final thing I will say is that if you are doing a fridge go ahead and do the solar. Makes life so much easier.

Roc8man