Is suspension upgrade necessary for...

I'm in the process of starting my 1st build.

2019 Colorado z71 crew cab short box
AT Habitat camper, about 320 to 350 lbs
Goose gear drawer systems maybe add another 100 lbs...guessing there

I was watching a video from ARB about upgrading front and rear bumpers and the video mentioned that as you add weight you stress the factory components and he did some additional upgrades to shocks or something to compensate.

Assuming I might add a total of maybe 750 to 1000 lbs to my truck including camper, drawers, gear, upgraded bumpers, etc., am I in need to do something additional to the truck to help support that extra stuff?

Max payload capacity looks to be around 1500 lbs so with all my possible add ons and two adults in the vehicle I should still be under 1500.

Any thoughts? I'm pretty new to all this and any input is appreciated.

shenrie

^^^ hates cars
If it were me in your shoes I’d run it stock. If your happy with how it drives, run with it as is and replace items as they wear out. If they wear out too fast consider upgrading them as you go.

If you don’t like how it drives after adding the extra weight then you look into making upgrades. Shocks and springs will likely be the first things you look into and if there isn’t upgrades already available it probably won’t take long till they are.

rkj__

Adventurer
If you are not sure if you need to upgrade your suspension, are you sure you really need those upgraded bumpers? Serious question.