Leaking front drive shaft seal

Nlionnet

Hallo all,

Need some help. The seal above is leaking really badly and will need to be replaced. Any suggestions on the easiest way to do this. Currently in the middle of Africa, Kitwe Zambia.

NatersXJ6

Explorer
When you say “really badly” what does that mean? Leaves a puddle when parked or just flinging oil all over? How often are you adding oil? Is the differential breather plugged? Do you know if the sealing surface on the input flange/yoke is destroyed or good? All these things matter. Depending on projected time to a home base or shop, I would probably add gear oil for months if needed. If not, you have to find an axle/differential place. Pinion seals tend to need big tools and big torque, although I’ve never done that particular model before.

Suggest you post on Benzworld. I have a U500 which has a conventional driveshaft in the open rather than a torque tube. On some vehicles, the driveshaft can be unbolted and moved out of the way, then a big staked nut removed. Then the yoke can be pulled out, which has the machined surface that the seal interacts with.
Then the seal can be destructively removed/pried out. The new seal could the be carefully tapped into its bore in the diff housing (aka pumpkin). Using something like a large long socket to carefully tap the new seal in.
On some vehicles.
If this is feasible (I’ve never worked on a Unimog with a torque tube), try to get 3 seals so that if you wreck one, you won’t get suicidal. Seals are generally pretty cheap.
And maybe refill with 140 GL5 oil. I’ve heard stories of people using EP grease in emergencies (make sure it’s EP, the ring/crown gear articulation with the pinion gear involves very high pressures).

Iain_U1250

Explorer