M416 simple build

This is my first build. After looking and searching for a trailer. I found this on eBay within a 6hr drive. This is what it looked like after I got it home. I had rented another trailer because I was not sure of it's ability to be pulled.

I had took it completely apart and sent the pieces out for sandblasting. Total cost so far was 600 trailer and 300 for the sandblasting. My project sat until late summer. I opted for a axle less suspension at a cost of about 700. Urethane primer on everything and I added POR to the frame.

I added about 18" to the tongue length. Removed the Pintle hitch and added the Kilby off road hitch. I purchased the 2" receiver stock(not sure what I paid). Welded some angles pieces in to accommodate bolts for the frame. Drilled and bolted everything together with grade 8 hardware.

At this time I am thinking about my tent choices. Also considering what to do with the tub floor. After the sandblasting I had pin holes and there were dents on the bottom.

I opted to leave the floor in and keep costs down. With that in mind I welded the pin holes on the bottom. I also welded the bolt holes on the sides from the previous owner. I wanted to be able to cross water without leaks.

I decided on the Oztrail tent from Kakadu tents. I thought about a roof top. However, I have a large chocolate lab that will travel with my wife and I. And I don't want to carry him up the ladder into a roof top. The design of the tent allows me to lift him up and provides a larger sheltered space for the other stuff...
I welded 2x2 angle iron around the tub in order to provide a flat resting spot, weather seal for the tent.

By this time I had bedlined the tub with POR Berliner.

I completed the tub and painted the outside. Attached a HF tongue box, marker lights (led), military LED taillights, two rear pipe mount stabilizer jacks, and a font pipe mount stabilizer jack with a wheel.

My tent was delivered about a month before the tub was finished.