Point 65N Sea Cruiser

Tmcgahe2

I've been looking for a good touring kayak for a 2 week trip a friend and I are planning for the summer. I was trying to keep it around $1,500 and the kayak had to be at least 16feet & have ample dry space. And I stumbled upon this kayak. So far the only information I've found is from the Point 65N website. I guess being made in Sweden they are kind of hard to find in the US. What drew me to this kayak was that it had a rudder/skeg combo. I've never used them together so if anyone has had any experiences with that I'd like to know how it was. I can't find any dealers in Georgia, but looks like there is a dealer in Saint Petersburg, FL which is about an eight hour one way drive so I'd like to find out as much as I can before I use the gas.

Any help appreciated,
-Tim

Nullifier

Expedition Leader
Well first off I have no direct experience with that kayak brand or model. I can however say that building a boat with both a rudder and a skeg is a disaster in my mind. First off skegs and rudders have advantages and disadvantages. Having both doubles you disadvantages but adds really nothing in the way of performance. This is gimmicky and very expensive. I'd rather see you buy a boat that offers quality and proper design rather then an overload of expensive features that offer no benfit. Remember in order to add features and maintain pricepoint you have to take away something. It is usually quality.

First thing is to understand is what a skeg is and what a rudder is and what each one can do for you. A skeg is a fin set into the hull of the yak parallel to the keel line. A control cableof some kind is used to raise and lower the skeg. Depending on wind conditions you can adjust the depth of the skeg to prevent weathercocking. These are the simplest in the way of design and seen as the most reliable form of steering directional assistance.