total newb question: Trailers, RTT, & tipping?

JOSX2

Observer
I'm a complete newb to the RTT & trailer setup, tho this is a setup I'm looking to go for over the next year or so. I've got a family of 4 (me, wife, 2 kids 3 & 5, and a dog), and packing up my X with a hitch rack AND roof rack for a weekend camping getaway is starting to push the storage capacity of the X. Have always eye'd trailers & RTTs, so definitely wanting to pursue it. I know i"d like it to be elevated about 6' when set up so I can walk under it & use an annex for changing (I'm 5'11").

One thing I can't figure out for the life of me is for elevated RTT setups, how is tipping prevented? Even with stabilizers set up in front & rear. Ideally, I'd have my X disconnected from it once it's set up.

Is it possible to sleep on the part that folds out and hangs out in the air (w/ the ladder going up into it)? Does the ladder provide that support? Looking at all pics of it, it seems like that's asking for the trailer to topple over, yet it doesn't. I'm picturing me & my wife sleeping in the part of the tent that's directly over the trailer as we weigh more, and having the kids sleeping on the overhanging part due to their weight.

Nd4SpdSe

Adventurer, eh?
I never had issues with it wanting to tip, but you do need to make sure the legs are solid. I only have a jack-stand holding the rear at the moment until I get my legs installed, but without the legs, the one issue was the suspension movement from side-to-side. With the ladder on the ground, it would cause the tent to fold is just enough that the insert that joints the 2 sections together (there the top and bottom come together to form a single platform), to pop out.

bobwohlers

Overlander
Some possible answers...