VanWaLife's Hardly Strictly Overlanding Thread

VanWaLife

I'm finally doing it. I'm finally starting a thread to document my adventures and non-adventures rattling around the PNW and beyond.

About my rig: I got her in '01. I call her Old Blue Midnight (she was Old Blue until I rhino-lined the bed and went with a satin paint job). She's a 1985 Toyota Hilux Camper Special. At least that's what the emblems on the tailgate say...

About me: Born in Santa Cruz, California, I am a professional engineer living in downtown Vancouver, Washington. I love the natural world around me and occasionally get of the couch to explore it.

There is an irony built into my VanWaLife moniker; here you will not find seamless edits and perfect shots documenting a blissful life lived in a van. What you will find here is dirtier, more dysfunctional, and sloppier. If you know anything about Vancouver, it all makes perfect ironic sense.

So to kick things off I'm posting about a recent camping trip on Swale Canyon in Klickitat County, Washington. I own some land out there and spent a few days scouting and getting ready for turkey season. As this is my first post, I'm starting with a few videos that show my camping setup:

This is what I would call the full-blown glamping setup, and it takes about a half hour to get everything set up, probably double that to pack back up. If I'm just out for a quick overnight, I generally just throw the stove on the tailgate, pop the tent up, and enjoy.