Where do I start (Land Crusier guy considering Rover)

Jwestpro

Explorer
We did get the extended warranty which wasn't cheap but was much less than the difference in price for the more expensive LC. (We got a HSE LUX w/ vision assist, extended leather, ladder, rails, trailer package, etc. and it was still more than $10K less than the LC.).

While I agree with you on most points. I must right, as I've been using my lr3 for 8 years now having bought it new as well.

However, the point about cost comparison cannot be quite accurate, especially with the extended warranty which much ave been $5000-$7000 ? While a new 2015 LC msrp is $81-82k (USD) +/- a few dollars, they sell regularly for $71-$73k in any given year model over the past 3 years. Additionally, this price doesn't really change because there are no "options" order or not order. That's pretty much the price and you just choose betwen two interior color schemes and 6 or so paints. All combinations are widely available except for green.

Last few times I "built" online a new 2015 LR4, with everything except the DVD headrests, it was about $72,000. This is what I'd call an identical purchase price and I know that with the Land Rover, they are not advertising $10,000 off until end of year model. On top of that, we know that there is no sense in buying an extended warranty for the Land Cruiser....so, the LC can actually be bought for substantially LESS $ when comparing new purchases. With Land Rover, you may need to order if you want a certain mix of options and are therefor less likely to get much of a significant discount on price whereas the LC are just what they are, all ordered the same and so it's only a matter of finding a dealer willing to sell at $10k off, which is very common.

This is not to say you didn't do exactly the right thing for yourself, but the price comparison was inaccurate.