Who has used a rear winch? Do you think it is necessary?

unreng

We have a keeper 17.5 winch in a mount attached to the rear frame of our 2017 F550. We’re putting the truck on a diet to decrease the weight on the rear axle, and are pondering whether to remove the 200+ lbs of winch and mount (3/8-inch steel) and elec-cable.

Has anyone with a +17,000lb 4x4 camper used their rear winch?

We’re driving to Alaska this summer thru BC and will probably travel to Tuk next summer with friends.
The truck will eventually have an electric front locker and an arb when they finish development for the rear axle.
I have 20+ years of offroad experience with a diy’d 78 f150 4x4 on 40-inch tires.

Appreciate the feedback. ?

Peter_n_Margaret

Adventurer
A winch does not have to have a fixed position.
With some decent cable it can operate anywhere and be stored anywhere when not in use.
It is a Warn 16.5Ti.
05-05 Last, paint, tanks etc 058 W.jpg07-10-19 to 23 009Ec.jpg
Cheers,
Peter
OKA196 motorhome

86scotty

Cynic
@unreng, I'd ditch the rear winch for sure if you're trying to lighten up. You can get creative with your front mounted winch if you need to pull backwards and you have some other recovery gear.

waveslider

Outdoorsman
Due to the fact that we travel alone more often than not, and that the achilles heel of our type of vehicle is mud/slippery conditions, we have a permanent rear winch. And we have used it.

It weighs more than Thor's hammer so it's not like anything suitable for our weights would be human- movable.

We also carry truck claws for the same reason (mud/slippery) but haven't used them yet. Had an opportunity to but since we were on private property, the owner/friend just pulled us in his tractor.

When the frost is down 4 inches and the weather warms up to make soup, the only thing going through that is a mega tractor. :confused:

IMG_5282.jpeg
52585a71-799d-469d-aaed-7fffdd297be0-jpeg.782090

Attachments

• 52585A71-799D-469D-AAED-7FFFDD297BE0.jpeg