WJ Cooling Issue

shamus275

Hey Gents-

I've recently purchased a 00' WJ w/ a 4.7 V8 and I have this weird coolant issue that is driving me nuts! I figure there must air in the system or something because when start it or drive it and specifically when I slow down or turn I can hear coolant being forced into reservoir. It sounds almost like a toilet flushing...I know strange but that's the best way I can describe it. I've drained the antifreeze and refilled as per the WJ Jeeps website to include cranking the heater up, getting to operating temp then letting it cool down. I did this three times like that website says and I still have the same water rushing sound? Any help or ideas is greatly appreciated!:mad:

And by the way, I'm a newbie here and I'm in complete awe of some of your rigs!

Thanks!

Shamus

UK4X4

Expedition Leader
turn off ac and repeat-----

if still there check your power steering

as the rad should not be effected by turning- but the power steering will

Nick02

fellow 4.7L owner here :)
the sound you are hearing is the coolant boiling over (230-250ish deg) into the overflow tank if you hear that STOP THE TRUCK IMMEDIATELY.
The 4.7 has aluminum heads and can WARP and blow the head gasket if you drive the truck overheating.

Does your truck ding and throw "check gauges" before it overheats?? where's your temp gauge sit when it bubbles into overflow?? If it's in the normal (gauge Mid range or below) (less then 210) (no steam coming out of the overflow vent tube or overflow cap) then you have a bad rad cap releasing coolant too early, and that's a simple fix.

if not..

#1 check your fans make sure the mechanical fan engages and that the electric fan comes on as well (on my Dakota the E-fan comes on when the ac turns on or the coolant temp is above 210) (assuming you have both)