WTHIJ's 2008 Elk-'spedition

“So how do you hunt for elk anyways?” I asked. He said “probably very similar to the way that you do” then he turned his focus to another customer. Apparently, he either thought that I was kidding, or didn’t really care to share his knowledge. The thing is… I wasn’t kidding, I've never done this before. I took my elk tag, big game regs, and left the store.

Amongst those with whom I regularly associate, I’m kind of an exception to the norm. I like to experience life in an extremely broad variety of ways, rather than simply on a fairly limited and/or narrow path. I enjoy challenging myself physically, mentally, and spiritually, and love experiences for what they are- experiences… which leads me to my latest self-challenge, elk hunting. The only thing is, well, I’ve never done it, and don’t know anyone who has.

A deer is one thing- walk up to a dumb fat deer, knock an arrow, and as they look at you to see what you're doing, aim and release. I did that just fine once- easy. However, I’ve never really been all that close to an elk in the bush, and really need to get within about 20 yards to be able to comfortably release an arrow, and with confidence that my aim will be true.

So here’s a question to any elk hunters on the forum: “how do you get one to come to you?” Archery season starts at the end of the month here, and my bag limit is “one elk”, meaning bull or cow. Keep in mind that I’m not looking for a trophy; I’m looking for elk meat. I have no clue here people… zero experience. However, I’m pretty bent on completing a successful hunt/kill, and want to learn. If you good elk hunting folks could share some details and/or wisdom with me, I’d be very grateful.

Topics of interest are:

* What TO do / what NOT to do.
* Calling in. Best ways?
* Getting close enough to take the shot.
* Bad shots / good shots (geographically).
* Knockdown! …now what?
* Getting it out of the woods.
* Quartering: a how-to guide.
* Pro-butcher or do it myself?