1999 4.6 HSE. Good buy?

elbendido

Hey guys, long time jeep driver, was looking at land cruisers, but.found a 99 range rover with 95k miles for a decent price. Was wondering about the reliability at this mileage. I am an ase certified mechanic, so I can fix it myself, all my experience is with jeep as I've worked for Chrysler for 10 years. Thanks for any advice.
Ben
Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk

LtFuzz

Explorer
Airbags or springs? Probably airbags...

You'll hear from two crowds -- one crowd will tell you the P38 is an underrated truck with overstated reliability issues, the other crowd won't touch that truck with a ten foot pole.

One crowd is bigger than the other. Take a guess which :sombrero:

I will say they have the most comfortable front seats I've ever sat in!

MatthewThompson

Adventurer
If you're a tech, don't sweat it. It's an emotional decision. Do you like troubleshooting on the weekends after wrenching all week?

dcarr1971

Adventurer
Airbags or springs? Probably airbags...

You'll hear from two crowds -- one crowd will tell you the P38 is an underrated truck with overstated reliability issues, the other crowd won't touch that truck with a ten foot pole.

One crowd is bigger than the other. Take a guess which :sombrero:

x2
Despite the fact that I love the way they look, I'm in the "...won't touch that truck with a ten foot pole..." group myself. I have a friend who owns an independent Rover shop and who drives a P38 every day. It's a really nice truck, but he steers his friends away from them due to the problems he's seen...

spikemd

Explorer
I am in the other camp. I took the plunge and very glad I did. I love the P38. It is the most comfortable SUV I have driven with the EAS (airsprings) still intact.