2WD Dodge 1500

rhk

Hello I'm a Newbie, And I have been bitten by the Expo!!!:wings: My problem is that I have a 2WD 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 and I want a expo vehicle with the Flippac. I've noticed that most of the trails you guys and gals are exploring look to be 2WD friendly but I'm torn by trading in my Dodge and buying a JK or keeping the Dodge and outfit/preparing it for stuckage! Please HELP! With my decision. Thanks Rob

angusdevil

Adventurer
2wd shouldn't be a show stopper, just means that you need to plan accordingly. Here in AZ, there TONS of places for any type of rig. Obviously you're not going to be able to tackle a 4 or 4.5 trail but something like a 2 or 3 is more than doable.. just going to have to pick good lines. A good driver in a 2wd can get more places than an incapable 4wd driver. Just air down the tires, pick a good line and make some plans and you'd be amazed where all you can get to.

Nick02

2wd shouldn't be a show stopper, just means that you need to plan accordingly. Here in AZ, there TONS of places for any type of rig. Obviously you're not going to be able to tackle a 4 or 4.5 trail but something like a 2 or 3 is more than doable.. just going to have to pick good lines. A good driver in a 2wd can get more places than an incapable 4wd driver. Just air down the tires, pick a good line and make some plans and you'd be amazed where all you can get to.
X2 also if you find yourself getting stuck, get larger tires and a locker... you'll be :Wow1: at where you can go, IMHO any truck is a better "expo" vehicle then a JK because you have a "bed" to start building off of. Used camper-shells are cheap and plenty to come by on craigslist... even tho it's ugly... I love my ARE

Check out my 2wd dakota build thread in my sig..

rhk