99 Mitsubishi Montero Build and Q.

Vashcloud

Hey guys! Got my first 4x4 this past Christmas. I work in Dallas Tx, but call Washington state home. So I bought her and left her there with my family who currently only use her for SOS it snowed duty!

I actually run my own performance shop for cars, key word, cars. So I am new to the whole 4x4 community. I hope one day to expand to offroad vehicles but you have to start some where.

Its hard finding information on these trucks. I knew I wanted one the day I saw them and the more I have learned about them.

Mine is a 2.5 Gene, green with about 190XXX on the clock. I was told the motor was replaced before due to overheating and but no confirmation. Being a mechanic and just driving it, I can tell you it doesn't act like a vehicle with almost 200K miles.

I believe it has the "snow" package, as it has a front, rear and center Locking Diff. Adjustable suspension, leather interior etc. Got her for 3500$ from a used car lot in Brementon.

I have done some research but I do need help, its hard finding a lot of information on this truck.

So here is what i have learned, please correct me if I am wrong:

ARB doesn't make a bumper for this truck, however, i only see that the fenders where changed from the 92-96 model years....So i figure maybe I can make a ARB fit?

Tried finding weight reduction items like a CF hood to drop some weight to make room for the added weight Ill be making with bigger tires and so on after reading this good article:
http://www.overlandexpo.com/overlan...is-gross-vehicle-weight-rating-overrated.html

But so far none found, I can get CF hood made from a company i work with on cars. Would you guys recommend it?

Anyother thing is this motor is the 6G74, same as the one found in the 3rd generation Eclipse....therefore, i should be able to utilize mods (performance) for this truck as well right? I figured upping the power a bit could do good off road with added weight and all.