Advice sought: E350 vs. Tacoma w/ Popup Camper

BC in CA

Hi Folks,

I'm new to the expedition scene, really most interested in boondocking in and around SoCal and Arizona more than anything. Wanting to explore BLM land out in Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego and Imperial counties and maybe into Arizona as well. Not looking to cross the Gobi Desert anytime soon but might do an occasional urban stealth boondock on the way to someplace more interesting.

Trying to decide which kind of rig would best suit me. I've read through several build threads for both. I wondered if the cognoscenti would care to impart any morsels of wisdom gleaned from your r collective experience.

Can you guys tell me the pros and cons of both a Tacoma with a popup camper ala FWC or Palomino versus an extended Econoline Cargo van with a raised roof and 7.3 Diesel engine? Not sure if a 4wd conversion is needed on the van.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Kind regards,
BC in CA

radorsch

Adventurer
For the So Cal deserts, there is a lot of terrain you can cover with 2wd... But you definitely need a LSD or locker (1wd doesn't cut it:sombrero:). I love my van. It's a great camping platform. With the van, you get more space and can have more amenities for a longer trip. In exchange, the size may limit you from exploring certain trails/canyons (as will lack of 4wd). Are you traveling solo? If you're looking to spend most of your time exploring the deserts, a Taco 4x4 camper may be more versatile. On the other hand, the van may be more comfortable for a prolonged excursion, or if you're traveling with companion(s). Also, the van would be better for urban stealth, probably.
Overall, if its me with the family, I'd do a ($ permitting, 4x4) van. If its just me, I'd do the Taco.

ert01

Adventurer
When it was just myself traveling, I solely used my Jeep XJ. I built a sleeping platform inside it and it worked really well.