Big ol antennas...

Gutarplaya39

Hey everyone. First post here! Really enjoy reading this forum!
Have a question about mounting taller antennas on a trail rig. I'd like to install an HF rig of some sort in my Trooper, and I was thinking about installing a screwdriver antenna somehow. I was looking at the Little Tarheel as it seems the shortest, Im just worried about low hanging branches and things.
Is there some kind of spring base mount strong enough to support a screwdriver? I'm wondering how much wind resistance a screwdriver will have going down the highway.
I'll mount it on the rear so I don't put any more width on the vehicle.
Any help is greatly appreciated!

Per

I am no expert in skrewdriver antennas but is it not possible to put the spring on top of the skrewdriver body at the base of the whip.

wirenut

Adventurer
Unless you really plan on transmitting on HF while driving thru the trees the easiest and safest bet is to just remove the antenna. Those things are expensive and I wouldn't want to tear one up. Something that heavy on a spring is going to have a lot of "recoil" for lack of a better term. When it gets pushed one way by a branch it will come back the other way with some good force.
I used to use Hamsticks on an 18 wheeler for mobile HF. They had a neat quick disconnect that was only 1/4 turn to remove or install an antenna.

prerunner1982

Adventurer
A buddy of mine runs a 102" steel whip with an antenna tuner for his Icom 706 in his Jeep Cherokee. Can keep it clipped down to the roof when not needed.

rambrush

Adventurer
I started out with a 102" whip. being a rookie at the time I did not have it mounted high enough. Switched to a Hi-Q screwdriver worked great but got in the way. Last week I removed screwdriver and mounted the 102" whip and AH-4 tuner to the 706mkIIg. Use https://breedlovemounts.com/ they are not a cheap radio shack unit but high quality and he makes some great folder or quick disconnect's.