diy fuel tank

NId4x4

After a reecent inspection of the fuel tank on my 72 Jeep comando, I realized a new tank is needed imediatly. After some shoping around I found stock replacements, poly replacements, and some heavy duty replacements, none of which i felt like were a good deal. So i have decided to build my own.
Requirements:
Skid plate botom, sturdy enouph to support the weight of the vehicle, extra fuel capacity (25-30 gal would be great), can't effect departure angle. I currently run an in line holley pump, but am considering an in tank? I like the servicability of the inline, but from what I have seen the in tank pumps offer a better service life. Oppinions?
Abilities:
I am a compotent welder with both mig and tig, and I have access to both welders and plasma cutter, an iron worker, and a break.
Questions:
What materials? What general shape, most importantly for the sump? What postioning for the fuel pick up?
Any ideas or advice would be greatly apreciated. Thanks in advance!
:sombrero:

R_Lefebvre

Expedition Leader
Materials I'd think stainless steel, or aluminum. Mild steel would rust inside, or you'd have to coat it or something... meh. With stainless, you'll have to back-purge the inside with argon while you weld the outside, so it will be a bit harder. SS will be more resistant to tearing on sharp rocks, aluminum will be lighter and easier to work with.

The shape doesn't matter too much, as long as it fits. Best to have a sloping bottom if possible to the pickup at the lowest point. This should all be obvious.

cyclic

Adventurer