expedition xj ideas.

92expeditionxj

hi I'm new to the forum and new to expedition type travel. I have a 1992 jeep cherokee that's got a lift and tires etc. I wanna outfit it for long distance travel and camping. Mostly looking for beefed up electric ideas such as inverters, batterys and anything else involved with portable power. Also wondering how my rig should be set up right now I have about 5inchs of lift and 33s kinda wanna keep it like that. I have offroad lights, winch and good recovery points. I'm also doing full belly skid and upgraded axles and lockers. Like I said I'm new to the long distance camping so I need advice and opinions thnx in advance.

JakeC

hello 92expeditionxj,

It sounds like your XJ is pretty well equipped to handle its own, off the beaten path. Though, you may not really know what you need or don't need until you finally take it off the beaten path on a short trip. Once you've experienced what you are lacking for the type of trip you plan on running, then you will know where to go, what to build/purchase, and what will suit you the most. Most people here will probably tell you something along these lines as well. Many times, people will over-build their vehicles and realize there are certain things they could have done without.

As for extra juice, when out in the middle of nowhere, many people utilize a dual battery system. Here's a thread I've been following, and I plan to eventually implement into my vehicle.

http://www.expeditionportal.com/for...ke-a-cheap-isolated-dual-battery-setup-for-50

You've got to figure out while overlanding if you'll be sleeping in the Jeep, how many people do you have in your family, how much gear do you have, where will you be traveling, how you'll store it and so on. There's tons of great write-ups on the forum to learn from.

-Jake

griffman