Extended Range Gas Tanks: 26 and 28 Gallons

Beowulf

Expedition Leader
http://www.aerotanks.com/veh/jeep.htm

Aerotank 26 gallon tank price is $489 with skid. I have no experience with these but am going to look into them.

I am wondering if their 28 gallon tank ($400 no skid) that says a decrease in 3/4" to 1-1/2" of clearance is because they use a stock skid on a jeep with no BL and use spacers on the OEM skid. That would means if you have a BL you could run the 28 gallon tank with no decrease in clearance and then get a kilby skid. This is still cheaper than Genright or Currie. OF course the 28 is for 1997 to 03 but I'm sure there is some sort of adapter ring.

I will send them an email and see what they say.

The other choices:

Currie: $1500 http://www.currieenterprises.com/cestore/product.aspx?id=1034

Genright: $900 http://www.4x4rockshop.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=11038

Ga Yota 4x4

Thanks for the info. How many gallons on a stock jeep? Extra range is always a good thing. Think there would be any sagging with a Wranger considering the extra weight in the rear?

I saw a 55 gal replacement for my F-250 that pushes me over the 1000 mile range without having to put an another tank in the bed.

Beowulf

Expedition Leader
Normal tank on a 2006 is 19.4 gallons. So the prospect of 8.6 more gallons under the rig is a nice idea. Of course not as cheap as Gerry Cans but much more appealing.

PhulesAU

Explorer
I would be somewhat concerned about the wieght as well. My unlimited had a 1" bl and springs on the rear for a hard top, which is just taking up space now. whats gas??? 6 pounds a gallon ?? I might not see any sag thats noticable. what about recalibration of guage?( The FEED ME Light)

Beowulf

Expedition Leader
Here is what I know about the genright from the rubiconownersforum: