Montero Limited Stuck in Low Range (4LLC) - Help!

TechNomad

Hello all,

I've been driving a 2001 Montero Limited for ~3 years now. The central diff light would periodically flash on, but would turn off after restarting the car or exercising the 4WD system.
However, I recently cleaned the underside of the car and engine with gunk remover and the transfer case has started acting up (maybe there's no correlation, but it's worth noting). The central diff light would randomly flash on and off while on the road, and eventually stay off.

My wife was driving the car yesterday when it suddenly dropped into 4LLC by itself. I tried all the standard tricks to try to get it out of 4LLC, but it won't go. The lever moves just fine.

After doing some research, I shorted out the #1 terminal on the OBD2 port and pulled the transfer case codes. I got error code 32 AND 33.

Code 32: "Malfunction of transfer shift mechanism/malfunction of actuator"

Code 33: "Open Circuit/ short circuit/ malfunction of switch"

My first course of action was to replace all 5 transfer case switches (fun, right?). After completing the job, I confirmed 2 of the old switches were bad with a continuity test.
However, the transfer case is still stuck in 4LLC. Also, now it beeps at me when I start the car in the 2H position, and only stops when I move the lever to 4LLC. I suspect this is because it now senses that it is in the wrong position since the 4LLC switch works now?

I ordered a new freewheel clutch solenoid since the vacuum tubes looked cracked, but I suspect the problem is deeper than the freewheel clutch solenoid.

Has anyone had this problem, or problems related to fault code 32?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Michael Brown

You followed me, so now we're both lost