Off Road Casita - All the amenities of a 40’ trailer in a very capable 17’!! *SOLD!!*

Trixxx

*Edit - we are purchasing a larger trailer this weekend so now more aggressively selling. Dropping the price from $43k to $40k OBO. The longer we have it after this point, the more flexible we’ll be on the price.

I am selling my heavily built up off-road oriented Casita. I have been a contractor the last decade and my wife and I were building with the intent of another long sabbatical in between jobs, in which this would be the perfect rig. Life happened and we had our first baby and I accepted a fully time, permanent position in Houston. While I’ll have a good amount of vacation, no long term sabbaticals in the foreseeable future. With the growing family and living in Houston (ugh), the benefits of a trailer of this build type are not as practical. Its small size and width is best utilized in the woods, mountains, etc. From Houston, that means a lot of drive time. From hitch to rear bumper the trailer is 17’. The rear platform extends another 30”. The overall width is 6’8”, which is similar to most vehicles. It tows incredibly well and tracks to the same radius as the vehicle.

We are considering a larger trailer with a better accommodating interior living space for more room for the family. With the excruciating heat for much of the year, many trips to nearby cities will have a good chunk of time spent inside the trailer.

I have a very detailed build thread (link below) which any interested parties should read in full to completely understand the build and modifications that have gone into this trailer. This trailer has been stored in an enclosed storage unit since new.

A few highlights:
1. Fully reinforced frame with 3x2” rectangular tubing
2. 3500# axle replaced with 5200# axle
3. 31“ Toyo ATII Tires and full size spare (sits around 5” higher than a stock Casita)
4. Rear platform for storage and full size spare