Question about Yakima Skyrise RTT

napuli

I got a brand new but older generation 1 Skyrise 3 person RRT last weekend and have some questions:

I can not get the tongue and groove between the two floor pieces to align with each other. One side is tight but the other side shows a little gap between the tongue and groove. I watched the setup videos that say to make sure the tongue and groove join is engage and now I am paranoid the whole thing is going to fall apart when putting weight on the floor piece supported by the ladder. I searched the internet to find if this is normal but I did not find anything. The outfit that sold me the tent told me is probably ok. I am waiting for a reply from Yakima but they are busy now and will probably take five days to reply. I am taking the tent in a long road trip in about 1 week and was hoping to get some feedback regarding this issue. Obviously I am new to RRT and don't know much about them. Apart from the join issue the tent looks good. It stay dried after spending a few hours on heavy rain and all the hardware seems to be good and tight. Join.jpgElement.jpg

If you purchased from an authorized Yakima retailer, and have your receipt, the tent should be covered by Yakima’s lifetime warranty.

napuli

If you purchased from an authorized Yakima retailer, and have your receipt, the tent should be covered by Yakima’s lifetime warranty.
I am afraid to admit this but the tent was sold with no warranty because is an older model I guess. When I called the outfit that sold me the tent they said I could return it if I though it was unsafe. I paid $1100 for the tent plus $60 for the installation, with tax it was $1275. They told me the new model would be twice as expensive? I am guessing they were probably thinking about the HD model.

NatersXJ6

Explorer