Sidewall strength, tire pressure, and tire quality

andrew61987

Observer
When I got my 2008 Tacoma last year (my first 4x4, I'm somewhat new to all this) it had a new set of Dakota Definity 245/75/R16 A/T tires, load range E which I believe to be the heaviest duty tire in terms of load range you can reasonably put on this truck. I was suspect of the tire brand because I had never heard of it, but they were new so I run them. 20k on them now.

Over the weekend I punctured a sidewall on my front left on a rough and narrow 4WD-only route up in Shasta-Trinity NF. Not huge rocks, small rocks and lots of fallen deadwood. I don't know how it happened. I believe it was probably during a tight 5 point turn around after coming across a huge fallen tree blocking the trail, I heard the hissing about 5-10 minutes after.

I was not aired down because I don't currently have a way to air up.

It's obviously my screw up for abusing the tires and still learning. My question is how big a factor did my air pressure and tire quality play? I was under the impression that these tires were pretty tough (10 ply) and I'm surprised I blew one doing what I did. Are there tires out there that have notably tougher sidewalls more suited to my uses or do I just need to chill out and be more careful? Note that I use it to commute about 180 miles a week when not exploring off road but I'm not against losing some road comfort for wilderness peace of mind.

Trophycummins

Adventurer
Puncture resistance is dependent on make and model of the tire, not the load rating.

On anything I've owned that has had dual usage, dirt and road, I've run a Toyo brand tire. Bfgoodrich tires are known for their weak sidewalls. Those Dakota tires you have are a pep boys house brand.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

IdaSHO

IDACAMPER
Operating pressures play a BIG role in puncture resistance...

So load rating does play a part in puncture resistance.