New Overland Explorer Base Camp

HowardH

Adventurer
Yes and a very nice bumper. The only thing I would add, which I will do locally, is a receiver hitch. At times being able to back a boat etc, from the front is very handy.

The bumper is made by a company right there in Red Deer.

They discussed Radflo as an option with me. Offered to help with price quotes etc. I know Mark, the owner, really likes them on his truck.

Perhaps I don't understand exactly what upgraded shocks do but if you don't plan on traveling fast on rough road aren't they of limited value?

stevo_pct

Shake down trip was to Prince George BC than west to the Nechako Reservoir. See link above for pics. Camper performed admirably. It froze every night.

Nice rig! Just curious, why the El-Dukee instead of the Thetford cassette toilet? I'm in the market for some sort of porta-potty situation. It seems like the Thetford would be easier to use, but I have no experience with any of these (I just go in the woods but my girlfriend is not a fan of that).

HowardH

Adventurer
El-Dukee has less of a footprint, also is unattached so can be used outdoors. It can also be set right in the entry and use the shower curtain for privacy.

Main reason is I want the "closet" as a pantry for storage.

A less import reason is that El-Dukee can go with me in the boat as well. Also, I am expecting to find plastic bags of "waste" easier to dispose of then emptying the cassette.

HowardH

Adventurer
For wash board and whoops you may want to remove the single upper overload leaf - they will be loading and unloading and make an annoying, "clunk" noise.

if you want some BC info.

Ahhh Ha, I was wondering about that "clunk" noise. Thank you.

Thank you for the offer on BC info. I will certainly take you up on that. Can I have your direct contact info perhaps? You can email me at hwhomes@outlook.com

Howard

stevo_pct